Heater/Defroster has gone out - Dodge Nitro Forum
Problems / Dealer Service If you are having problems with your Dodge Nitro and want to discuss it, please do so in here. If you need to talk about service that you may need or have received from a dealership, please do so in here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 09:37 PM Thread Starter

Heater/Defroster has gone out

Hello, newbie here and I have a 2011 Dodge Nitro 4wd and the heater/defroster system just went out, all of a sudden, boom no more heat. Has anyone heard of this happening before for this year Nitro?

Last edited by newmultimom06; 12-05-2012 at 10:20 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 10:36 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmultimom06 View Post
Hello, newbie here and I have a 2011 Dodge Nitro 4wd and the heater/defroster system just went out, all of a sudden, boom no more heat. Has anyone heard of this happening before for this year Nitro?
Welcome!
Did you see this thread? Does this help?

https://www.dodge-nitro.com/forums/f1...-coolant-7975/

Rick

Nitro Year: 2007 (1 of 91,815 sold in 07)
Nitro Model: R/T 4X4 Stone White
CAT-BACK Exhaust, CAI, Projector Head Lamps
Fully-Equipped w/all factory options
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-06-2012, 05:32 PM

Welcome to the forum. Is your 2011 still under warranty? When you say your heat went out, do you mean that it no longer blows air? If that is the case, it might be the fuse, or the big resistor located behind the glove compartment. Does it blow air, but only cold? If so, possibly the mixing valve is stuck closed. Rotate the knob cold to hot and back a couple of times and see what happens. Good luck, and let us know how you make out.

2011 Nitro Heat 4x4: Bright Silver Metallic, Dark Slate Gray; Customer Preferred Package 24C; Trailer Tow Group; Hood-to-Fender Stripes; Navus 2; Uconnect.