New to this forum - Dodge Nitro Forum
New Member Introductions If you are a new member, please stop in here to introduce yourself, tell us about your ride, or ask questions about how to use the forum. If you have questions about the Nitro, please post them in the appropriate category

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-07-2009, 01:59 PM Thread Starter

New to this forum

I suppose I'm a newbie, certainly to this forum, but not to the Nitro. I've had my 2007 SXT 4x2 for 21 months and 57,000 miles now, and still have mixed emotions - I bought it to replace a 2006 Dakota ST V-8 with towing package (totalled under circumstances I'd not care to relate) and it's required considerable modification to carry personal effects and the roughly 1,500 lb. trailer/motorcycle combination. Modifications I've made and discarded:

AEM Cold Air Intake P/N 218218DP (too noisy for long-distance driving)
Gibson Performance Exhaust P/N 616004 (same as above)
Keystone ALY02304U86N wheels with 275/45R20 Goodyear Fortera SL tires (bent two rims on undeveloped roads; not enough sidewall height)
Eibach Pro-Kit spring set P/N 2885-540 (not enough ground clearance for undeveloped roads)
Jet Performance power control module P/N 90701S Stage 2 (requires 91 octane fuel - on my last trip to Abiquiu, NM, I had to re-install the 90701 Stage 1 chip because only 86, 88, and 90 octane were available)

Modifications I've made and retained:

Volant Cool Air intake P/N 166376 (quieter than AEM, no apparent compromise in performance, configuration enabled ram-air mod, slight improvement in fuel economy)
CGS Cat-Back Exhaust P/N 70033 (interior noise level tolerable for long-distance travel, improved fuel economy and performance)
Jet Performance power control module P/N 90701 Stage 1 (improved performance and economy, but requires 89 octane fuel)
Bilstein heavy duty shocks, P/N's BE5-D916-H0 (front), BE5-D917-H0 (rear) (much-improved cornering, braking and wheel control)