Stranger’s Admiration - Dodge Nitro Forum
Photos / Media / Art Posts Have some pictures of the Dodge Nitro that you'd like to share? Or a Nitro news item? Maybe a video or a photoshop you've done? Post it up in here!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 01-11-2012, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Garage
Stranger’s Admiration

Stranger’s admiration of wood-paneled Jeep triggers an idea

2012-01-12

I have been driving for 23 years or so, but nothing like this has ever happened. I had finished taking the kids to school and was on my way to the office.

I was in the middle of the seashore woods on 98 when this guy in a red Dodge Nitro starts motioning something to me. I couldn’t quite make out what he was trying to say. It wasn’t the one-fingered salute that I have received from other drivers in the past, but it wasn’t just a “good to see you” wave either. I spent a few seconds trying to guess his charade. No, I didn’t leave my coffee cup on the top, although that has happened. I didn’t have any lights out. Oh, well l.... Never mind. I kept driving.

This guy was persistent. He finally rolled his window down and shouted across the passenger seat that something that sounded like the teacher from Charles Schultz’s Peanuts cartoons. “Huh?” I said. I was thinking he said something about the Crimson Tide in response to my Auburn tag. “I LIKE YOUR RIDE .... That is a NICE CAR ... I LIKE IT!” he shouted as he gave me a big thumbs up. I smiled and said, “Oh ... THANK YOU!”

I do drive a unique looking vehicle. It is a bronze 2006 Jeep Commander with wood grain paneling. I upgraded this past summer from my white 1987 Jeep Wagoneer, also a woody. I searched and searched until I found one, but finally got this one sent from Wisconsin back in early July. Some folks think it is goofy. Some just think I am an idiot, but I like it and was glad to carry on the woody tradition. Apparently, my Jeep has one more fan than me. Cool.