Dodge Nitro Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hum at 55MPH rear axle replaced.

Not sure if I created a thread for this slight annoyance I had but anyways..

My main dealer replaced the rear axle complete with rotors pads and new calipers ( bonus ) on my RT.

The slight hum noise at 55mph is now non existent. I would like to give thumbs up to Dodge Dayton Andrews of Clearwater for their expertise. I use the same mechanic there and they seem to always want to appease their clients. Had quite a few other warranty work done their and not once did I have to go back for other issue.

Freddy

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Just an update. Unfortunately I noticed a faint hum from the rear again at 55MPH!

Its much fainter but no doubt it will get louder, wonder what it could be? As the rear end was completely changed,.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Dodge Nitro DRIVELINE: Differential & Driveline Info

I am new to this, but I haven't been able to find a lot of information on the problem that I am having. I currently own a 2007 Dodge Nitro. A week ago yesterday while making a left hand turn my drive shaft fell out of my vehicle causing my air bags to deploy. Two separate repair shops have looked at the vehicle and determined that there was something that was rubbing against the drive shaft that would have caused it to weaken. There were gauge marks in the drive shaft indicating this. I purchased the vehicle used so my only conclusion was that it had to occur while under the previous owner. I accepted their report and the warranty is covering the replacement of the drive shaft; however, the incident caused major damage to the vehicle including deploying my side impact air bags. Luckily my insurance company is going to cover the remaining repairs needed. So up until this morning I was satisfied .... On my way to work I passed a newer model Dodge Nitro with its drive shaft on the ground. My husband stopped and talked to the guy.