Dodge Nitro Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
2008 Dodge Nitro 3.7L
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Preface: I am not a mechanic, I have very little knowledge when it comes to working on cars. My gf bought this car for $1,500 already with high mileage and probably never cared for. Oil changes most likely not done on time, and nothing else done. Even my girlfriend was riding on 4 bald tires, past oil change date, no tag no insurance when I got to the vehicle.

Hello, I have been dealing with my girlfriend's 2008 Dodge Nitro 3.7L for the past month roughly, which means a month of learning about Nitros via these forums. I told her last year with 259K miles on it, and her experience, she needed to get a new car or put money into this one. She likes her Nitro so she chose to keep it. We put 4 new tires on it, got the insurance, tag, etc. taken care of (yes, she had no ins or tag), I bought a new gas cap and put it on for her (she didn't have one for months), then we had the oil changed. Everything was fine until the oil change.

The car always had a very slight shakiness to it that was hard to notice. Now,a day after the oil change, it didn't want to crank. I got it to crank, it was extremely shaky, the longer it was sitting there, it would get worse. Days later I would notice this was due to the engine heating up. If it's cold it will crank up fine, but the higher the temp gauge got (up to normal operating temp) the lower it would idle and the shakier it would get until it would just die. The shakiness is BAD around 500RPM, it goes away until it's almost gone entirely around 3K RPM.

I digress: I ran the OBD2 reader and received the following codes:

P0300 - Powertrain
Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected

P0303 - Powertrain
Cylinder 3 Misfire Detected

P0456 - Powertrain
Evaporative Emission Control System Leak Detected